Sometimes homework is hilarious

Standard

The second graders get a weekly homework packet for reading / phonics / spelling.  Sometimes, like this week, it includes a poem that they are supposed to read each night.  The poem will include their spelling and vocabulary words to give them practice.

Well, tonight DS2 was just DYING to read me this week’s poem.  The anticipation was twinkling all over his brown eyes.  When he mentioned it, DS3, who was engaged in math and the complexity of turning equations into 10+ equations at the time, wanted to get in on the act of sharing this poem with me also.

DS2 calls me over with “OK, here’s the part I want to read to you” and proceeds with

They do disgraceful things on rugs,
And track mud on the floor
And flop upon your bed at night
And snore their doggy snore.

That blue part?  Hilarious when you’re a 7 y.o. boy who happens to have a beagle who snores almost as prodigiously as Daddy. He nearly couldn’t make it through that last night and by the end of it was rolling on the couch giggling.  DS3, still with the math at the table also burst out in laughter.

But that’s is not all, oh no, that is not all.  He says “wait, wait.  I want to read you the next one – you’ll like this one”. (I liked the last one too – well, mostly, I get a gigantic kick out of watching them giggle like it’s the funniest thing they ever heard).

So, he proceeds but he’s covering the lines past where he’s reading.  Creating a suspense effect and adding a little conspiratorial tone for effect.

Mother doesn’t want a dog.
She’s making a mistake.
(steals a glance at me with mischief all over his face)
Because, more than a dog, I think
(long pause and then he removes his hand from the last line and reads)
She will not want this snake!

More fits of laughter from both boys and DS2 looks at me as if he just put one over on me – as though he actually had brought home a pet snake.

Second grade homework is not always torturous. I’ll refer back to this on nights when I’m tearing out my hair over math concepts that aren’t sinking in or weeping and wailing and gnashing of teeth over writing assignments and the accompanying whine “but I don’t know what to write” etc.

Leave a Reply

