“Did you write Sugarlump?”

Standard

I have this thing I do with the boys when I’m snuggling with them.  I say “who’s my sugar lump?” and they smile big and say “ME!”  and I say “Right!”

Of course, DS2 has developed his own variation on this because, of course, nothing is more fun than teasing.  So, his version now goes Me: “Who’s my sugar lump?” DS with the trademark twinkling eyes, makes a face like he’s thinking hard, “ummmmm…” then he’ll go into a string of guesses that is usually in an order something like this

a skunk? (this is almost always first, he thinks it’s hilarious),

thunder?

random object he sees in the room 1 / 2/ 3 /etc.

Rex? (the dog)

DS3?

DS1?

Daddy?

then a long pause, a big grin and “ME?”.

At this point I say “YES!!” and give him a big shaking hug and he giggles like we haven’t done the routine 400 times before.

So, a week or so ago there was an informational forum at the school in the evening where you meet the teacher and they give you the lowdown on how they do things and run their classroom, etc.  It’s parents only.  Before this night, they have the kids make a folder and other cute little projects for you that they put all the paperwork (with which they love to inundate me) into.  Usually, they also have the kids write you a note to say thanks for coming and whatever else.  Then you write them one back and leave it on their desk for them to read in the morning.  It’s kind of sweet and the kids get a huge kick out of it.

So, a couple days later I asked DS2 if he got the note I wrote for him.  He looked confused so I figured he obviously hadn’t gotten the note.  So I asked if he remembered writing a note to us for that night and he did.  So I told him that his teacher told us we could write one back and leave it for him on his desk.  He grinned at me and said “did you write Sugarlump in the note?”  I hadn’t thought of it at the time but when he asked I wished I had.  Luckily, I get another chance.  And another and another …

Leave a Reply

