Little twilight zone moments

Standard

So, I just opened a letter from the IRS.  Not something a person usually looks forward to which may be why it’s been sitting on my desk for days.  Right at the top in bold letters it says “This is not a bill”.  OK.  So far, so good.

The next paragraph is bolded and centered and it says “You Made One or More Late Federal Tax Deposits But We Didn’t Charge You a Penalty”.  First, I love how they capitalize it as though it is a title.

So why did they contact me?  Just to let me know they weren’t going to charge me the $175 that they could.  You know, if they wanted to.  If they were the old, hateful IRS not the new, kinder gentler one.  And to make sure I understand what I’m supposed to be doing so I can get it right next time.  Little do they realize it’s more an issue of being calendar-challenged than anything.  Understanding what I’m supposed to pay when is my accountant’s job.  I just don’t follow her instructions so well.

Anyway.  It just seemed a little bizarre to have the IRS be so… well, nice.  “No, really, don’t worry about it.  I’m sure it was an honest mistake”.  Not really something one expects to hear from the IRS.

Leave a Reply

