My inner geek

Standard

got very excited by my daily deals email from buy.com.  They’ve got an external hard drive on sale.  Of course, that is not unusual.  But this one is 2 TB.  In a slick-looking case.  As silly as it is, I cannot help getting a few little butterflies in my tummy at the very thought.  Two Terrabytes.  <geeklust>.  That is, like, <countingonfingers> 20,000 times the hard drive as my first computer.  Which, at the time, was awesome.  It amuses me now to remember that my thought, at the time was “wow, I could never fill up 120MB.”  Bwahaha.  Never say never.  The lesson we learn here is that hard drives are like closets.  It doesn’t matter how big they are, you *will* eventually need a bigger one. 

 Of course, I’m not going to buy the 2TB drive, as exciting as it is.  I (currently) have no conceivable need for that (but give me time, and I will).  But, just the idea of knowing that I *could* have 2 TB sitting on my desk just makes me weak in the knees. 

 </geek>

Leave a comment