The apple and the tree

Standard

More stuff from the Sent folder.  This one requires a little background.  My 4 brothers still love to keep a “torment Rose” sort of joke going to this day some 30+ years after it started.  It went something like this (although there could be numerous variations on the theme)… it’s dessert time and my job is to serve, say, cake and ice cream.  So I’d ask who wants ice cream on their cake and my brothers would proceed to make me nuts by saying “I don’t” which wasn’t what I asked.  I was only looking to hear from who did.  So, I soon adopted it to “who wants ice cream on their cake, if you answer me it means you do”.   They’d still do it, I’d still get mad. Rinse lather repeat, ad nauseum till we all (ostensibly – although the fact that they still enjoy doing this to me would seem to provide evidence otherwise) grew up.  So… here’s a note I sent to them.

 OK, the inlaws may have to ask their spouse why this might be perceived as humorous.  (I just found my voice recorder a.k.a. surrogate memory so now I can share this) So, the boys are playing I spy in the van and [DS1] is doing the spying.  [DS2&3] are not guessing it so [DS1] says “do you give up, do you give up?”  [DS2] and [DS3] say “nope”.  [DS1] says “So, don’t say anything.  Only answer if you give up.  So… do you give up”  [DS2] and [DS3] “no”.  

[DS1] “ONLY SAY SOMETHING IF YOU GIVE UP.  IF YOU SAY ANYTHING, IT MEANS YOU GIVE UP.  … So, do you give up?” 

[DS2&3] “No”.   It was very, very hard for me not to LOL.  A lot.

Leave a Reply

