The most tormented lizards on the planet

Standard

live in my yard. 

 The boys, DS2 in particular, are completely fascinated by them.  Of course, this fascination is very much the hands-on type.  They are constantly catching them and collecting them in pails and trying to feed them whatever they think lizards should eat.  One day, they tried to give a captive lizard (although, I’m sure they think of the lizard as a guest at their lizard spa in a bucket rather than as a captive) a Starburst.   Because everyone knows that reptiles (or are they amphibians… whatever) just love chewy, sugary lumps of corn syrup and artificial coloring. 

 Just now, I had to rescue one from the inner workings of a toy that shoots a stack of glow-in-the-dark foam circles.  I’m 100% certain the lizard did not appreciate my efforts nor understand that I was, in fact, rescueing him from a horrible fate (for both him and the toy.  Toys with lizard guts inside of them get retired to the landfill. 

 What is that saying about “boys are … the hope of the future with a frog in its pocket”.  Or lizard in its toy.  Whichever.  I guess I should make sure I check the pockets in today’s laundry.

One response »

Leave a Reply

